Being Emotional And Overthinking Turned Me Into A Loveless Mess

How I changed to enjoy my present and have a happy marriage

Ellen Nguyen
7 min readOct 29, 2023

--

Photo by Emma Simpson on Unsplash

I used to believe I was cursed for my excessive emotions and constant overthinking, and there was no way out. Fortunately, in my mid-20s, I found a path to change my life completely. For several years now, I have been enjoying a lighter, more secure, and happier life, and I want to share my journey and how I did it.

My Life As An Anxious Overthinker

I’m an introvert. I’m also a Cancerian woman, one of the most emotional signs of the zodiac, which certainly describes me well. I couldn’t help but think and feel deeply. As a child, I was always scribbling. I had a blog and enjoyed writing about my experiences, thoughts, and feelings.

My mind was constantly active, and my unique family situation added to the complexity. I grew up separately from my two sisters, living with my grandparents while I stayed with my parents. My father, often absent and with a quick temper, had a…

--

--

Ellen Nguyen

Freelance writer & digital creator | London based | Psychology BSc. Editor of LovefulMind.com, empowering women.