You Have a Window to Draw Your Boundary. Do It.

No one is worth losing yourself over.

Ellen Nguyen
3 min readAug 9, 2022

--

Photo by Katie Drazdauskaite on Unsplash

When I was single and dating, I met someone who made a strong impression on me. We were quick to get together. And he was quick to cross a boundary, of which I didn’t quite understand the significance at the time.

I just knew I had grown attached to him when it happened. I also knew if I had confronted him about it, it would be the end of our relationship. And, frankly, I wasn’t ready to let him go.

So I kept quiet. “Maybe it wasn’t that bad,” I bargained. I allowed myself to move closer to him while being in denial about what he did to me. I thought I could go along with it but the truth was I was losing myself, little by little.

I started to become critical of him for the smallest things and act erratically. Eventually, he broke up with me. My anxiety immediately spiraled even though I’d seen it coming.

But, more than anything, I was angry. He wanted nothing to do with me anymore but he hadn’t paid for the boundary he had crossed, I thought.

What ensued was months of going back and forth between crying over the breakup and shouting at him via texts in an effort to keep him accountable for what he did.

--

--

Ellen Nguyen

Freelance writer & digital creator | London based | Psychology BSc. Editor of LovefulMind.com, empowering women.