Is it Unattractive to Be Caring?

The short answer is no. But there’s a long answer.

Ellen Nguyen
4 min readSep 2, 2022

--

Photo by Ethan Robertson on Unsplash

When I met my husband a few years ago, I had been in therapy for a while, but I was still recovering from my anxious attachment style and was somewhat guarded.

I didn’t want to come across as too keen. So I tried to play it cool. I let him initiate texts, calls, and dates, and he was happy to do it.

After we got intimate for the first time, my past experience led me to expect him to pull away. But, to my pleasant surprise, he became even more affectionate and there was a clear sense of relationship progression.

I soon realised I’d got myself an exceptionally caring and emotionally secure man.

During the first few months of dating, he wasn’t afraid to spend lots of time together and show me his intention and care. We met up twice or more a week until we became inseparable. He helped me shop for gifts for my family. He cooked for me. He put cream on my leg when it hurt.

I’d met caring guys before, and I’d subsequently lost interest in them, but there was something different this time.

His caring didn’t make me feel like he was desperate or I was better than him.

--

--

Ellen Nguyen

Freelance writer & digital creator | London based | Psychology BSc. Editor of LovefulMind.com, empowering women.