My Wedding Day Diary

Sharing with you one of the best days of my life in photos

Ellen Nguyen
8 min readSep 17, 2022

--

Me and my husband on our wedding day

If you follow my writing, you’d know I had gone through lots of emotional ups and downs before I met my husband. I had really low self-esteem and intense anxiety.

I came to England 10 years ago with literally nothing but a suitcase. My family tried hard to give me the best education, but other than that, it was all on me: to get a degree, secure a job, to build a life, and to have a future.

I did many important things right, but it took me a long time to figure out many others, including who I was and what I wanted out of life.

When I finally hit rock bottom, I realised no one would save me except for me. I had to take matters into my own hands; otherwise, that would be it. That would be my life, and I couldn’t accept that.

I thought, “If I was really that smart, this couldn’t be it.” And that was the beginning of me thinking and getting myself out of that hell hole. Looking back, it was probably the best achievement of my life.

I embarked on a journey of becoming the person I’d wanted to be. I made many drastic changes that would’ve been impossible if I hadn’t been in so much pain. And I’m grateful for that.

--

--

Ellen Nguyen

Freelance writer & digital creator | London based | Psychology BSc. Editor of LovefulMind.com, empowering women.