Here’s the Man I’m Marrying

I asked the universe for him, and he immediately came into my life.

Ellen Nguyen
4 min readFeb 21, 2022

--

Photo by Scott Webb on Unsplash

I’m marrying a man who quickly calls me from work when I tell him I have a nightmare or anxiety. And I listed this first not because it’s the most important thing or anything, but because this just happened (again) today and it came to my mind. It’s a simple example of how he’s always available for me and makes me feel important, and I don’t even have to ask.

I’m marrying a man who asked me out again before we even said goodbye on the first date. A man who has my book on his shelf and never fails to celebrate my writing and passion. A man who has texted me every morning for the last 2.5 years (even after we have moved in together.)

I’m marrying a man who is good, kind, funny, and smart, but these adjectives are not enough to describe him. He’s so much more, and I know because he’s by my side every day, loves me more than himself, and makes me laugh so hard my stomach hurts. He’s gentle, genuine, and generous. He radiates the kind of positive energy that naturally lifts me up. I’m always amazed we ever found each other. What a blessing.

I’m actually crying a little bit as I write this because I know how lucky I am. I once wrote, “Someday someone is going to love you so much you happily think to yourself, Well

--

--

Ellen Nguyen

Freelance writer & digital creator | London based | Psychology BSc. Editor of LovefulMind.com, empowering women.